Trying

It’s the first day of the new year. A fresh start. A time for reflection, setting goals, rebooting if you will. I intend to post here daily for at least this month, and I’m going to put myself out there, really get back into my writing and use my skills for a greater purpose. I have also resolved to exhibit greater patience and kindness to all who cross my path, starting with my family, but it is precisely this audience who is trying my patience already. Pumpkin, now 13 months old, has moved on from one very long growth spurt and essentially refused or simply showed pure disinterest towards almost every food we placed in front of him today. Great. I’m not talking about pushing it away and shaking his head no. Think screaming, crimson red cheeks, tear-filled eyes and multiply the drama by a hundred.

This irritates Clark and I to no end. It’s frustrating to go through the process of putting together a healthy, well-balanced snack or meal only to throw it down the drain after fruitless pleading/arguing with Pumpkin for ten minutes. Force-feeding has occurred, but frankly, it’s misery for all involved. Thankfully, tonight we had a new experience- spaghetti.

Ridiculously messy, wildly entertaining, and to our surprise and relief, delicious and fascinating to one small person. Even so, we often have conversations regarding what to feed him, how to get him to eat more vegetables, etc. After some browsing, I made a list of new recipes to try, bought some interesting and new things in the produce section (had to ask a kid where they keep the rutabagas) and intend to cook up a storm tomorrow. After a ride on this food rollercoaster, we’ve come to our senses and can say, “Ya know what? He’ll eat when he’s hungry. He’s certainly not starving, and we just need to not sweat the small stuff.”

Have you been on this ride? Tried to reason with an infant who’s on a hunger strike? Ever felt like all your kid will eat is Cheerios and blueberries? Well I’m there. It happens, and it’s okay. I don’t particularly enjoy it, but I’m trying not to stress about it so much. I’m trying to start a life of good nutrition for Pumpkin and trying not to lose my cool during the process. Now let’s see how terribly some of these nutritious creations turn out tomorrow. I’ll let you know.

4 thoughts on “Trying

  1. BTDT. I have 3 monkeys and 2 extremely picky eaters and yet they are the tallest for their age and off the charts on growth at ped. office. It is frustrating but kids WILL eat if/when they are hungry. Have you heard of Sneaky Chef by Jessica Seinfeld? Might want to check it out.

  2. Yep. BTDT. I made many different pasta sauces so that my kids got some veggies in them. Fruit ones too! Oh and you need one of those arm covering bibs or just let him eat in just a diaper and then pop him in the tub. Spagetti is messsssy! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

