Kitchen Record: 1-1

Between yesterday and today, I tried two new recipes- one for us all and one for picky Pumpkin. Yesterday’s selection was a success; today’s is still awaiting a verdict but appears to be failing so far. Let’s start with the good news.

I’ll start by saying that we received a crock pot for our wedding and I’ve used it a handful of times in almost four years. This is just silly, so I’ve been on a mission to use it lately. The following “Crock pot chicken with black beans and cream cheese” was my first attempt to use it in recent history. I know, the name is so original and gives nothing away, right?

At any rate, I read a lot of the reviews and learned that many found it to be bland. Based on the suggestions, I threw in some cumin, chili powder, and a bit of garlic powder as well as a chopped green pepper. If I can stuff more vegetables into a dish, you bet I’m doing it. There are no pictures to be proudly displayed because frankly, this stuff is an ugly mess. Don’t let that stop you though. It was pretty darn tasty. I served it over rice last night with shredded cheese sprinkled on top and had it with tortilla chips and more cheese today. Delicioso!

Now for the not so much fun time at the cutting board today. I’m no Betty Crocker; I know this, but I’ve been bent on making and offering healthy veggie-filled options for Pumpkin. Today’s experiment was these Roasted Rutabaga Cubes from Homemade Baby Food Recipes. Conclusion: I. Hate. Rutabagas. Hate, hate, hate them.
Rutabagas are the most dense, tough food item I’ve ever encountered. Regardless, I am more stubborn than they are dense, so I cut it into cubes, threw oil and spice on them, baked them and voila!

20120110-005647.jpg

As for Pumpkin’s reaction… Well, I can’t tell if he didn’t like them, was more interested in the leftover chicken concoction already on his tray or just bored with eating in general. We’ll try again tomorrow, but I’m going to call it right now and say I’m never doing that again.

Leave a Reply

