Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Temper Tantrums

SOC Sunday

SOC Sundays. Eeeee!

My son is going on 14 months and lately his temper has really started to show. This kid clearly doesn’t function well without sleep. Food is a different story. I don’t want to talk about meal times in our house these days. There’s a lot of crying, screaming, “dropping” things, legitimately throwing things and more. Force feeding is fruitless and even more painful than letting him starve.
Anyway, the tantrums are happening. Kicking, screaming, big ole alligator tears and more. Dude will pitch a fit over the tiniest thing or just out of nowhere. And yet, he is a sweet angel boy most of the time. I’m going to have to get better at keeping my cool when he gets hot. Anybody else feel like you trade one difficulty or obstacle for another when it comes to being a parent?

I heart SOC Sundays. Good talk.

4 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Temper Tantrums

  1. Oh, wow. Visiting from #SOCSunday and I can tell you… tantrums get more familiar but I have yet to see them totally disappear, having just had one myself a couple weeks back. The thing is, we Mommies get better at working them out with our kidlets. When my children get over tantrummy, I put them someplace safe and let them have at it. When they tire of it (and I don’t respond) they come around pretty quickly.

    GOOD LUCK! Great to “meet” you today!

    • Thanks! I remember ignoring a toddler I used to babysit when she pitched fits in the back of my car. I foresee my son being ignored a fair amount when he becomes unreasonable. Nice to meet you too.

  2. The only advice I have to not get angry is to laugh. It’s amazing how these little babies can get us so emotionally riled up (and they know it!) We never had many tantrums but I was always really calm, clear, and concise. And sometimes it worked đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

