You can pick your friends, you can pick your nose…

Friends that are like relatives? This is the NaBloPoMo prompt for today, or something like that as far as I can tell from other peeps’ posts. I can’t be bothered to actually look at the writing prompt page, but I got this covered. You’d think I would bookmark that page by now, but no.

I’m an only child who has three sisters. You read that right. The first and original: A pretty lady back in Carolina might as well be blood to me because well, I was there when she was born. I was going on two, and her mom and mine were best friends. We was like peas and carrots. If she wasn’t at my house, I was at hers. We would pretend to fall asleep in her guest room and interlock our legs in the hopes that they wouldn’t separate us and just leave us be for the night (or the whole weekend). Our families spent a week at the Outer Banks for vacation together every year, and our moms spent half the year planning and packing for the trip. We’d pick our rental house for the next year while we were there, and ride together swapping between our parents’ cars.

Now we’re all grown up, and if I called her right now it would be like we just continued our last conversation. I was next to her actual sister in her wedding; she was my sole attendant when we whisked away for a small wedding down South.

My other two sisters came along a little later after I wound up in Indiana during my high school years. To this day, I’m still not sure how I’m sisters with one of them because she is the antithesis of me and initially irritated me to no avail. They went to church together and had both lived there all their lives, so they already had a history. We were band geeks together, and after a million blazin’ hot summer days and long bus trips together it came to be that we were family.

We haven’t always been equally close through the years, but we’ve never gone off and abandoned each other (even if we wanted to kill each other a time or two). I stood in both their weddings -hacking up a lung in one with cough drops tucks in my bra; they travelled to and read in mine. Then in 2010 we all entered the ranks of motherhood. They had theirs a week apart about eight months before our little guy came along. *Bonus: They go through everything first, and then I call them to figure out what the he!! I’m doing.

I would be jealous of people who have siblings, but even if I can’t claim them as next of kin on a government form I have sisters. And for that, I’m thankful.

Leave a Reply

