Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Itchy Head

SOC Sunday

I have a serious headache. I’ve had it all day. It’s one of those if I could slice off about 1/3 of my head, I would. One of those ones I woke up with (as often occurs), but “It’s only a dull pain, so I’m sure once I have some coffee it’ll bail” type of headaches. Only it didn’t. I took a nap with it; I’ve played with the kid with it, ran to Kohl’s with it (almost forgot to use my Kohl’s Cash! I always let that crap expire, ugh), made dinner with it and helped the no-eating monster see that chicken, broccoli and potatoes are not his archenemies.
It was in that single minute, sitting at the dining room table after we’re all stuffed and the kid has been freed from his cage (highchair), that my head hurts that much worse and I’m subconsciously rubbing my head in various spots and purposefully pulling my hair. Okay, I partially only realize this because my husband is watching me and says, “Itchy?” Me- “Wha? Oh, no, it hurts. Still.” I finally cave and take something.
I’ve never been officially diagnosed with migraines because I haven’t had an MRI or stuck with one general physician long enough to have an in-depth discussion about this. Because I’m stubborn. And it goes in spurts. And I try my darnedest to ignore pain. It did get bad enough at one point that I started documenting when they happened, maybe for sake of discussion with doc and trying to pinpoint a “trigger”? But did I use that info? No. Cause they stopped happening nearly so much. But now and then… they kill me. To the point I want to take my contacts out, close my eyes, and cover my head with a dark blanket because it just can’t get dark and quiet enough.

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Visit all.things.fadra to add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post to that days SOC Sunday post.
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
4 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Sunday: Itchy Head

  1. Ugh, I have ONE credit card and I only have it for the store rewards (I pay it off once a month). anyway, they sent me a gift cheque for 25 bucks! And I let the dang thing expire. I hate it when that happens!!!

    • It’s the pits, but apparently some stores will accept expired coupons/bucks etc. Shhhh! I learned last week at a couponing class for example that CVS will accept recently expired Extra Care Bucks and some Kohl’s will accept old Kohl’s Cash as long as you present it within a reasonable amount of time. It doesn’t hurt to ask, right?

  2. Saw a video clip on Dr. Oz the other day that said that Feverfew is supposed to help stop migraines. I haven’t gotten to try it yet, though.

    Hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

